LCF student Meta Cunder wins prestigious Cordwainer’s National Footwear Student of the Year 2019

Incredible graduate talent from top universities celebrated

More than 200 guests including footwear students, manufacturers and influencers joined a  celebration of talented, up and coming shoe designers at the annual Cordwainer’s National Footwear Student of the Year Awards 2019.

Held at the Clothworkers’ Hall, London, this prestigious event included a speech from previous award winner Helen Kirkum, who won the award in 2014.
The Worshipful Company of Cordwainers launched the National Footwear Student of the Year Awards to support the future of the shoe industry and to celebrate and encourage young footwear talent. Previous winners are already making their mark in the industry and have used their prize money to fund further education in footwear design or start their own footwear design business.

Penny Graham, Clerk at the Worshipful Company of Cordwainers said: “We are delighted to host this national award for the very best footwear design students. We believe that recognising and supporting the next generation of footwear talent is an important part of helping Britain to maintain its position as the world leader in the design and manufacture of footwear.”

Applications were invited from the footwear students at the three universities that specialise in footwear design – De Montfort University, University of Northampton and the London College of Fashion.

The students submitted portfolios  and after an initial selection by the universities, the works of 15 finalists were presented to the judging panel.

Liveryman Katie Greenyer (Chair of the Judging Panel) commented: “I can really say this has been the highest of standards and the toughest year to judge by far, taking us an additional two hours to debate the work, challenge each other, and to delve deep into the students’ rationales to justify our decision.”

Winner Meta Cunder from the London College of F,ashion  was ecstatic about her win: “It feels incredible to win this award!” she said. ” It means the absolute world to me, as it will allow me to kick start my career and help me set up my own brand.”

The 2019 winners are:

1st Prize Meta Cunder London College of Fashion
2nd Prize Dimitri Gabellier De Montfort University
3rd Prize Emily Hill London College of Fashion
Commendation 1: Monica Bateman University of Northampton
Commendation 2: Sara McMullan London College of Fashion